Home WIvIND West Indies announce test squad for India series, Gayle not included

West Indies announce test squad for India series, Gayle not included

1975-1995/96 is the Era when West Indies dominated the world. (Image Courtesy: Getty Images )

West Indies cricket has released the 13-member squad for the Test series against India. The board has done a couple of new additions to the squad.

Rahkeem Cornwall and Shamarh Brooks being the new entrants, the board has decided to retain its base. The squad included the likes of specialists Kraig Braithwaite, Roston Chase, and Darren Bravo.

West Indies

With Kemar Roach as the spearhead, the bowling line-up has the skipper Holder and Shannon Gabriel. However, the side hasn’t got any specialist spinners, thus adding additional responsibility to Roston Chase.

The games will be played in Antigua and Jamaica starting August 22. The series marks the beginning of the ICC test championship for both sides. India has been dominating the longest format of the game for a few years. The visitors will be looking forward to maintaining their winning streak, thanks to the test specialists.

On the other hand, the carribiens are enthusiastic after their emphatic victory against the poms(2-1) earlier this year. An intense battle is expected on the cards after the ODI series.

Omission of Gayle

Chris Gayle has already announced his willingness to play a home test a month ago. However, he hasn’t been included for the series. Similarly, Alzarri Joseph who sustained an injury during the IPL season has also not been given a go.

The latest jerseys bearing the name and number hasn’t been revealed yet for both the sides.

After a washout in the first ODI, the sides will be playing their second ODI on Sunday at Port of Spain. The hosts haven’t been dominant in the series till now and are currently hoping for a change in fortunes.

West Indies test squad:

Jason Holder(C), Kraig Braithwaite, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shamarh Brooks, Shannon Gabriel, Kemer Roach, Keemo Paul, Shane Dowrich, Roston Chase