Home News SLvNZ: Kiwis Name Four spinners in Test squad

SLvNZ: Kiwis Name Four spinners in Test squad

New Zealand also start of their ICC World Test Championship campaign.


The New Zealand Cricket Team have included 4 spinners in the 15-man squad for the two-Test match series against Sri Lanka starting from 14th August 2019. The series between Sri Lanka and New Zealand will start the journey of ICC Test Championship for both these teams.

William Somerville took New Zealand towards an unlikely win on debut (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

Mitchell Santer who played his last Test match in December 2017 was sidelined due to an injury makes a comeback into the squad. The leg spinner Todd Astle joins in the spin department.

The left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel who bowled brilliantly in his debut Test match against Pakistan last year taking 5 for 59 in the second innings which led New Zealand to a thrilling 4 run win. In the third Test match, Ajaz Patel took a total of five wickets which led the Kiwis to their first series win at Pakistan home venue.

Ajaz Patel and Kane Williamson celebrate a wicket (Photo By AAMIR QURESHI/AFP/Getty Images)

Somerville making his Test debut in the 3rd Test took seven wickets in the game was superb which led New Zealand winning the match by 123 runs. Kane Williamson will lead the New Zealand squad. Trent Boult, Tim Southee, and Neil Wagner are the only 3 quality pace bowlers included in the squad. Tom Blundell will be the backup wicketkeeper. BJ Watling has been named the first-choice wicketkeeper.

Also Read: All you need to know about the ICC World Test Championship

The first Test match of the Two match series starts from 14th August at Galle International Stadium, Galle which will be followed with 2nd match at P Sara Oval, Colombo from 22nd August 2019.

Mitchell Santner played his most recent test for New Zealand in December 2017 © Getty Images

New Zealand has performed reasonably well in subcontinent conditions with their spin bowling. Last year, England whitewashed Sri Lanka by 3-0 because of top-quality spinners the visitors had.

It promises to be an exciting series as both teams would be looking to start the ICC Test Championship on a new note.

Here we look at the 15-man squad for New Zealand
Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell, BJ Watling, Mitchell Santer, Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Todd Astle, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner.