Home News Nidahas Trophy 2018: Team India look to continue their winning run in...

Nidahas Trophy 2018: Team India look to continue their winning run in the final

Washington Sundar celebrates with teammates. (Photo by: AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena)

After losing the first game to Sri Lanka in the tri-series, Rohit Sharma led side won 3 successive matches to reach finals of Nidahas Trophy tournament. Team India will face Bangladesh in the finals of the tournament to be played at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo tomorrow.

When these two teams met on 14th March, India defeated Bangladesh by 17 runs. The Indian captain Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave a solid foundation adding 70 runs for the first wicket. Rohit who did not have a great tournament till then, came back to form by taking time in the first 10 overs, then smashed Bangladesh bowlers to all parts of the ground. The right-handed stylish batsman was dismissed for 89 runs and with Suresh Raina added 102 runs for the second wicket which helped team India post a competitive total of 176 for 3 in 20 overs.

While bowling, Washington Sundar continued his impressive run taking 3 wickets in the powerplay overs and broke the backbone of Bangladesh top order. The off-spinner finished with figures of 3 for 22 in 4 overs. Yuzvendra Chahal also bowled well taking 1 wicket giving away 21 runs. Vijay Shankar despite not taking a wicket gave away only 7 runs per over. Mohammed Siraj who was given a game replacing Jaydev Unadkat was expensive, going for 50 runs in 4 overs.

Shardul Thakur also has been impressive in the tournament and would be looking to show his class in the final match with his bowling.

Bangladesh will be high on confidence as they defeated hosts Sri Lanka in the last group game by just 2 wickets. Tamim Iqbal made valuable 50 runs, Rahim scored 28, Mahmudllah played a great knock under pressure scoring 43 off 18 balls and hit the winning runs. The batsmen need to play longer if they defeat the Indian team.

In the previous match against India, Rahim made 72 not out but the rest of batting order failed. Their star batsmen including Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudllah, Al Hasan needs to step up and put pressure on the Indian inexperience bowling line up.

The bowling was impressive in the early stages with Mustafizur Rahaman taking 2 wickets. Captain Shakib Al Hasan returned to the team and gave away 9 runs from 2 overs.

In the death overs, the bowlers need to control the run flow if they are to stop the top quality batting line up of Indian team.

India might bring Jaydev Unadkat replacing Mohammed Siraj in the squad, while Bangladesh might stick with the same XI. India are the favorites going into the finals as they have all the 7 T20I’s against the Tigers.

It promises to be exciting finals between the favorites and a side that are playing good cricket.

Probable XI India: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaydev Unadkat

Probable XI Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Shakib Al Hasan (C), Mahmudllah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazimul Islam.