Home News Nidahas Trophy 2018: Rohit Sharma, Raina and Washington Sundar take Team India...

Nidahas Trophy 2018: Rohit Sharma, Raina and Washington Sundar take Team India into final

Washington Sundar celebrates with teammates. (Photo by: AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena)

India defeated Bangladesh by 17 runs in the 5th T20I match of Nidahas Trophy 2018 played at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo just finished a few moments ago. Bangladesh captain Mahmudllah won the toss and invited India into bat. Rohit Sharma and Dhawan put on 70 runs for the first wicket, and then Raina and Rohit Sharma smashed Bangladesh bowlers to post a competitive total of 176 for 3. While chasing Bangladesh lost 4 quick wickets, Rahim continued his good form in the tournament but was not enough for Tigers to win the match.

Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah won the toss and invited India into bat. Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma started on a steady note scoring 49 runs in the first six overs. The stylish left-handed batsman looked in good touch while Indian captain took time taking singles and hitting bad balls away for boundaries. Rubel Hossain ended a 70 runs partnership dismissing Shikhar Dhawan.

Indian captain Rohit Sharma came back to form reaching his half-century off 42 balls. He then took charge with clean hitting and smashed the Bangladesh bowlers. In the last 18 balls, Rohit Sharma smashed 38 runs. Both Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma added 102 runs. Rubel Hossain bowled a brilliant last over dismissing both batsmen. Rohit Sharma scored 89 runs off 61 balls. India posted a competitive total of 176 for 3 in 20 overs.

Chasing 177, India got off to a great start with Washington Sundar picking Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar and dangerous Tamim Iqbal in the first six overs. At the end of 6 overs, Bangladesh made 48 runs for 3 wickets. After the power play overs, Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah for 11 runs.

Vijay Shankar bowled well in this match also giving just 28 runs off 4 overs. Yuzvendra Chahal also went for 5.25 runs per over. Mohammed Siraj was expensive going for 50 runs in 4 overs.

Mushfiqur Rahim and Sabbir Rahman added 65 runs for the 5th wicket. Rahim continued his good form scoring his half-century off 42 balls. Rahman could only score 27 off 23 balls. Bangladesh scored 159 for 6 in 20 overs.

India 176 for 3 in 20 overs ( Rohit Sharma 89, Suresh Raina 47, Dhawan 35, Rubel Hossain 2/27) beat

Bangladesh 159 for 6 in 20 overs ( Mushfiqur Rahim 72*, Tamim 27, Sabbir Rahman 27, Washington Sundar 3/22) by 17 runs.

Indian captain and Man of the match Rohit Sharma said: We felt that the team was 10-15 runs short. It was important for me to return to form. It was not a usual good batting pitch as the ball was gripping and not coming on to the bat. Raina’s form has been terrific. With the final over bowled by Siraj, I told him to keep back off a length and keep it simple. Washington Sundar has been courageous and created pressure on the batsmen.

Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah said: It was a good effort by our team. We wanted a great start but lost early wickets which created pressure on our batsmen. Rahim was brilliant against but want someone else to contribute. While our bowling, we could not execute our Yorkers well.

India progressed to the finals and will the play the winners of Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The finals will be played on 18th March.