Home News ICC releases latest elite umpires list; No Indian umpires

ICC releases latest elite umpires list; No Indian umpires


ICC governing body has now released a 12-member list of elite umpires for the period of 2019-20. Indian umpire S Ravi who was on the list till the World Cup 2019, isn’t a part of it anymore. The ICC decided to replace S Ravi and Ian Gould with Michael Gough and Joel Wilson respectively.

Ian Gould retired from his position during the world tournament in England. Ravi found his name on the list back in 2015. He was a member of the elite panel for a period of four years.

“Being an elite official is an extremely challenging job. Every decision is scrutinized by millions of fans and each match official is subject to a rigorous ongoing performance assessment throughout the year,” said Adrian Griffith, the  ICC Senior Manager for Umpires and Referees. He also added that Gough and Wilson are certainly ‘deserving additions’ to the list.

Photo: AFP

Joel Wilson comes from the Carribean with an experience of 13 Tests, 63 ODIs and 26 T20Is. On the other hand, Gough has already officiated 82 games in all formats combined. Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Nigel Llong and many others are retained in the list.

Srinath retains his spot 

However, former Indian pacer Javagal Srinath retained his spot in the eight-member ICC elite panel of referees. The list remained unchanged for the entire elite panel referees.

Chris Broad, David Boon, and other prominent names also found their place on the list.

Elite Panel for Umpires: Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rod Tucker, Michael Gough, Joel Wilson.

Elite Panel for Referees: David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson, Javagal Srinath.