Home News BCCI Announces Squad For T20I Tri-Series; Jhulan Goswami returns

BCCI Announces Squad For T20I Tri-Series; Jhulan Goswami returns

©Getty Images

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has named the India Women’s international T20 squad for the upcoming T20I Triangular series that also involves Australia’s and England’s Women teams.

Jhulan Goswami, the Indian cricket legend has returned to the side tri-nation T20Is tournament. The stalwart pacer had actually missed the third ODI and the five-match T20I series against South Africa recently after suffering a heel injury. Having been advised rest for two weeks and rehabilitation, she’s resting and missing the ongoing ODI series versus Australia too.

Here Is the Full Schedule of Paytm T20I Tri-Series involving Australia Women and England Women

This is possibly the evening of Jhulan’s career, India is preparing for the life beyond her too with young talent blooded in, She still walks into the side with her performances, though.

Young batter 17-year-old Jemimah Rodrigues, and 18-year-old fast bowler Pooja Vastrakar, who both did their job justice in the debut series, against South Africa, have been retained and selected in the 15 member squad for the tough series.  Rumeli Dhar has also kept her place in the squad, as the fourth seam bowling option.

The selectors made a like for like replacement in Ekta Bisht for Rajeshwari Gayakwad. Rajeshwari had picked up four wickets in the three T20Is she played against South Africa. Bisht, also a left-arm spinner, played only one game during the South Africa tour, though.

The T20 Triangular starts on the 22nd of March and concludes with the final on the 31st. Three teams will play each other twice before the top two on the points table contests the trophy in the final. Series is a tough assignment for India’s women’s team, England and Australia are two of the fiercest opponents.

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Rumeli Dhar, Mona Meshram.

India A squad that will play two T20 warm-up games against England Women on March 18 and 19 in Mumbai.

India A squad: S. Meghna (Captain), Vanitha VR, D. Hemlatha, Monika Das, Tarannum Pathan, Priyanka Priyadarshini, Arundhati Reddy, R. Kalpana (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, Kavita Patil, Shanti Kumari, Preeti Bose, Sheral Rozario, Harleen Deol