Home Ashes Ashes: Shane Warne names his England XI for the first test

Ashes: Shane Warne names his England XI for the first test

© Getty Images/AP

The stage is all set for the most intriguing rivalry, The Ashes. All eyes are currently set on how the poms will be performing at their home conditions right after their successful World Cup campaign. The English Cricket Board has already named a 16-member squad for the pre-Ashes camp last week, whereas Cricket Australia will finalize its squad in a unique way.

(Photo by William WEST / AFP/Getty Images)

The result of Australia Vs Australia A game at Southampton will decide the final 15 of the kangaroos. Meanwhile, Australian legendary spinner Shane Warne has reacted for the first time on this Ashes. He revealed the England XI that would make the first test so interesting.

Mark Wood was Man of the Match after his five-wicket haul in the first innings © Getty Images

Shane Warne called for the inclusion of new openers in the form of Jason Roy and Z Crawley. While his middle-order consisted the likes of Root, Buttler, Stokes and Bairstow, Warne also called for the call-up of Ben Foakes primarily as a WicketKeeper.

It is to be noted that Foakes created an early impact in his career as he played a crucial part in the series victory at Srilanka. He even bagged Man of the Series award for his consistent show in the middle and this made Warne’s squad look interesting.

Ruth Strauss Foundation Celebrates A Special Day At Lords This Ashes

His lower middle order comprised of Moeen Ali as the lone spinner, but certainly spiced up the pace department. Adding Archer alongside Broad, Anderson and Mark Wood, he said that it’s up to the team management to change their 12th man according to the conditions.

Mark Wood claimed the wicket of Shai Hope © Associated Press

The first test will be played on August 1st at Birmingham. This match also marks the beginning of ICC test championship which takes place for a period of three years. With new rules all set to be implemented from this game, fans couldn’t wait for the series to begin.

Shane Warne names his dream T20 XI

Shane Warne’s England XI:- 

Jason Roy, Z Crawley, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Johny Bairstow, Ben Foakes, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Mark Wood